Hunter X Hunter (SPOILER ALERT)

I guess before I can really dig into the recaps and reviews, I should shed a little light on what Hunter X Hunter is for those who do not watch it.  As mentioned in the title of this post, it does contain some spoilers, even though I do try to keep them to a minimum.  This post (and the one coming about One Piece) will be longer than normal, so bear with me.  So here goes!

Hunter_x_hunter_3

Hunter X Hunter is the story of a young boy, Gon, and his adventure to become a professional Hunter.  The story starts in a small town, where Gon was raised.  He starts out kind of clumsy and silly, but quickly develops into a talented character.  He’s very stubborn and has a strong sense of morality.  Gon’s father, Ging, is a professional Hunter, who abandoned Gon at a young age.  This is what inspires Gon.  Ging made it clear that he didn’t want to see Gon until Gon was strong enough to keep up with him.

To become a Hunter, you must pass the Hunter exams.  This is where Gon meets three major characters in the show.  Killua, Kurapika, and Leorio.  I won’t talk about this part much because a lot of cool things happen, a lot of character development unfolds, and you get to understand a little bit about each of the primary characters.  You also meet Hisoka, whom to this day, I can’t tell if he’s truly a goodie or a badie.

After the exams are over, Gon, Killua, Kurapika, and Leorio travel to York New City and more interesting things happen which divulges more about Kurapika’s past and his resolve to avenge those close to him.  I have to insert here that I really enjoyed this part of the story.  There was a lot of things that happened to grow and shape the characters during this part of the show.  A lot of obstacles had to be overcome during this arc, I really feel like it helped connect me to a lot of the characters.

The next part of this story was Greed Island.  When I say I enjoyed the York New bit, I guess I’d have to say then, I LOVED this arc.  Greed Island is a game developed in part by Gon’s father, intended to make him strong enough to come find Ging.  I can’t even begin to express the awesomeness of this part of the show.  I would have to say this was my favorite arc thus far.  Gon and Killua grow stronger as a team and as individuals.  I have to say it again, I LOVE THIS ARC.

After Greed Island comes the Chimera Ant arc.  This is what part we are currently in.  Gon comes to know about the Chimera Ants through Kite, who was a student of Ging’s.  A lot of things have happened this far that were very unexpected.  There was one major death that I didn’t see coming and holy crap, does that make you wonder how strong Gon will have to become in order to defeat these guys.

I know this was sort of vague, but I was trying not to spoil too much of the story if you want to follow along, both with me and the anime.  If you have any questions or comments, as always, please feel free to post them in the comment section below.  Later in this week, I will be doing a One Piece “catch-up” blog along the same sort of lines as this.  If you think I should be more specific, please tell me.  I will happily get more detailed!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

