Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood

So, in lieu of having a One Piece review this week, I figured I would change gears and talk about one of my favorite short anime series.  There are 51 episodes in the series and 5 OVAs.  There’s also a movie that was pretty good called The Sacred Star of Milos, which was pretty good.


So, Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood is a redo of Fullmetal Alchemist.  Fullmetal Alchemist was being released at the same time that the manga was being released, so in order to not catch up to the manga, a lot of things were changed.  After the manga ended, they decided to redo the show and try to make it more true to the manga.  The original series was good, however, I prefer Brotherhood.  I’m not going to do a real overview of this show, because it is so short.  I feel like if I talked about it, I’d spoil everything and ruin it for someone who hasn’t seen it.

That being said, I love Brotherhood.  The show is beautifully produced.  The animation is clean and beautiful, the voice actors (at least in Japanese) are amazing.  Every character in this show is someone that you care what happens to them.  Even secondary characters feel like people you could become attached to.  The main characters, Edward and Alphonse are the most believable set of brothers I’ve ever seen in an anime.  They have the same morals and values and they really feel like siblings.  Sometimes in anime they do weird things that make you feel like two people can’t actually be related and I don’t feel that way.  I think Edward is my favorite main character from any anime (except maybe Yusuke from Yu-Yu Hakusho).  He’s strong and reliable, but does have his weaknesses that make him a believable character.  I also really enjoy Winry, because instead of being a useless female character, Ed really depends on her.  It’s nice to see that in a female protagonist.  I guess, to be honest, I really just love this whole cast.  Roy Mustang is BAD ASS.

Well, let me know what you think.  I would love to hear from you.  As always, have a great day!

Leave a Reply

